P186X Walter J. Damrosch School
Grades: 1–12
Climate
Families: my child is safe99%Half of NYC schools score 95%–99%.2024-25
The share of parents and guardians who responded positively to "At this school my child is safe" on the NYC School Survey. This reflects what families reported, not students or staff.
Where this number comes from →Families: staff keep in touch87%Half of NYC schools score 89%–96%.2024-25
The share of parents and guardians who responded positively to "School staff regularly communicate with me" on the NYC School Survey. This reflects what families reported, not students or staff.
Where this number comes from →Families trust the principal94%Half of NYC schools score 94%–98%.2024-25
The share of parents and guardians who responded positively to "I trust the principal/school leader at their word" on the NYC School Survey. It asks about the school leader specifically, not about teachers.
Where this number comes from →Suspensions per 100 students1.409th percentile citywidecitywide median 5.302024-25
Removals and suspensions per 100 enrolled students, calculated from the DOE's annual student discipline report (Local Law 93). The DOE withholds small counts for privacy, so many schools — especially elementary schools — show "Withheld" here; that means the count was under the reporting threshold, not zero and not high.
Where this number comes from →All data & history
| Metric | 2025-26 | 2024-25 | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 | 2020-21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Families: my child is safe | — | 99% | — | — | — | — |
| Families: staff keep in touch | — | 87% | — | — | — | — |
| Families trust the principal | — | 94% | — | — | — | — |
| Suspensions per 100 students | — | 1.40 | — | — | — | — |
Students & school
Enrollment73482nd percentile citywidecitywide median 4222024-25
The total number of students enrolled at this school that year.
Where this number comes from →Economic need indexAbove 95%2024-25
The DOE's estimate of how much economic hardship a school's students face. A student counts fully if their family receives public assistance, they lived in temporary housing in the past four years, or they are a recent-immigrant high schooler whose home language is not English. Otherwise they count by the poverty rate of their census tract. The school's figure is the average across its students, which is why it usually runs higher than the poverty measure.
Where this number comes from →English learners33.2%89th percentile citywidecitywide median 14.2%2024-25
The share of students who are English Language Learners and receive services to build their English proficiency.
Where this number comes from →Students with disabilities99.5%98th percentile citywidecitywide median 21.8%2024-25
The share of students with disabilities — those who have an Individualized Education Program (IEP).
Where this number comes from →PovertyAbove 95%2024-25
The share of students the DOE counts as living in poverty. Because every NYC school serves free meals, the DOE identifies these students by matching against income-based assistance programs rather than by lunch-form applications.
Where this number comes from →Students in temporary housing21.7%Half of NYC schools score 8.5%–24.3%.2024-25
The share of students who experienced homelessness during the school year — living in a shelter or doubled up with other families — from the DOE's Local Law 73 report. This describes the students a school serves, not the school's quality.
Where this number comes from →All data & history
| Metric | 2025-26 | 2024-25 | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 | 2020-21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Enrollment | — | 734 | 714 | 684 | 654 | 709 |
| Economic need index | — | Above 95% | Above 95% | Above 95% | Above 95% | Above 95% |
| English learners | — | 33.2% | 35.3% | 33.9% | 32.3% | 29.9% |
| Students with disabilities | — | 99.5% | 99.9% | 99.7% | 100% | 100% |
| Poverty | — | Above 95% | Above 95% | 93.6% | Above 95% | Above 95% |
| Students in temporary housing | — | 21.7% | — | — | — | — |
Staffing & support
Students per counselor18430th percentile citywidecitywide median 2622025-26
The school's enrollment divided by its guidance-counselor staffing (in full-time equivalents), from the DOE's annual guidance counselor report. A lower number means more counselor time per student. Social workers are counted separately.
Where this number comes from →Students per social worker18017th percentile citywidecitywide median 3772025-26
The school's enrollment divided by its social-worker staffing (in full-time equivalents), from the DOE's annual guidance counselor and social worker report. A lower number means more social-worker time per student.
Where this number comes from →Counselors (full-time equivalent)4.00Half of NYC schools score 1.00–2.00.2025-26
Guidance counselors on staff, counted in full-time equivalents from the DOE's annual report. Two half-time counselors count as one, and a decimal like 1.4 usually means the school shares a counselor's time with other schools.
Where this number comes from →Social workers (full-time equivalent)4.07Half of NYC schools score 0.60–1.40.2025-26
Social workers on staff, counted in full-time equivalents from the DOE's annual report. Two half-time social workers count as one, and a decimal like 1.4 usually means the school shares a social worker's time with other schools.
Where this number comes from →Certified librarians1Half of NYC schools score 0–0.2025-26
Full-time certified school librarians at this location, from the DOE's Local Law 80 report — the city's first per-school librarian data, published starting with the 2025-26 school year. A zero is what the DOE reported, not a gap in this site's data.
Where this number comes from →All data & history
| Metric | 2025-26 | 2024-25 | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 | 2020-21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Students per counselor | 184 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Students per social worker | 180 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Counselors (full-time equivalent) | 4.00 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Social workers (full-time equivalent) | 4.07 | — | — | — | — | — |
| Certified librarians | 1 | — | — | — | — | — |
Funding & resources
PTA/PA raised per student$00th percentile citywidecitywide median $82024-25
The PA/PTA's reported income divided by the school's enrollment — the clearest way to compare parent fundraising across schools of different sizes. "Not reported" means the PTA did not file.
Where this number comes from →PTA/PA funds raised$0Half of NYC schools score $0–$31,785.2024-25
What the school's parent association (PA/PTA) reported raising in the year shown, from the DOE's Local Law 171 report. PTAs file these figures with their school under Chancellor's Regulation A-660. "Not reported" means the PTA did not file — not necessarily that the school has no PTA.
Where this number comes from →All data & history
| Metric | 2025-26 | 2024-25 | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 | 2020-21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PTA/PA raised per student | — | $0 | — | — | — | — |
| PTA/PA funds raised | — | $0 | — | — | — | — |
Enrichment
Licensed PE teachers8Half of NYC schools score 1–2.2024-25
Full-time teachers with a physical-education license at this school, from the DOE's Local Law 102 report. Elementary classroom teachers may also teach PE without holding the license, so a low count at an elementary school is common.
Where this number comes from →Weekly library time (gr 7-8)0%Half of NYC schools score 0%–0%.2025-26
The share of this school's 7th and 8th graders with weekly scheduled class time led by a licensed school librarian, from the DOE's Local Law 80 report. Only grades 7-8 are covered by the law, and most schools citywide report 0% — a real finding of the report, not missing data.
Where this number comes from →All data & history
| Metric | 2025-26 | 2024-25 | 2023-24 | 2022-23 | 2021-22 | 2020-21 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licensed PE teachers | — | 8 | — | — | — | — |
| Weekly library time (gr 7-8) | 0% | — | — | — | — | — |